Time for a Budget Audit

For some time, I have prided myself on my ability to feed my household on a strict budget. For years, actually. It’s been more of a battle lately. We have some dietary restrictions that I thought I was working around reasonably well.

I thought.

While I was thinking that, I realized that money seemed to be slipping away. No matter how many expenses I have cut, I am still coming up short every month.

The other day, after a shopping trip, I realized I spent a full third of my monthly budget and did not have enough food for the week.

HOLY SHIT!

Seriously, I did not have enough to feed my family for a full week, but I had spent more than a week’s budget. As I loaded up the car, I started mentally going backward with my grocery spending. And I did not like what I was coming up with.

I decided to sit down and complete an audit of my food spending. It was eye-opening, er, eye-popping. I am literally spending over twice as much as I have allocated for food! Twice as much.

I don’t have any lines of credit. Living beyond my means in one area means hurting myself in another. This is why my car is past due for an oil change. This is why I only shop thrift stores on half price days. This is why I haven’t been able to do so much of what I have budgeted for because the money just isn’t there when I need it.

So, dear readers, I am humbled. I am not the grocery maven I thought I was. I am, however, going to get my shit together and get my food expenses down to the amount I have budgeted. I am going to cut my spending in half. And I’m going to hold myself accountable right here.

Get your popcorn.

One thought on “Time for a Budget Audit

  1. betternotbroken

    You will get through this, you really are a survivor. People recover financially you will too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

