Quick Breakfast Muffins

I’ve been heavily focused on food since the budget audit. Like, obsessively focused on food. Maybe that’s not quite accurate, it’s a little more like borderline panic.

That said, I can’t just sit back and panic. That would make me go insane. (More insane. Insaner. Whatever, I’d lose it.) Instead of letting panic take over, I have been working my culinary skills. I have the staples, it is time to s-t-r-e-t-c-h them.

So, there are these muffins I’ve been making for breakfast a couple times per week. They come together quickly and are inexpensive. I wouldn’t quite call them healthy, but you can always make a crumble topping with oatmeal and brown sugar that gives these guys a fiber and protein boost. And maybe stretches them a little farther for practically nothing. One of my kids doesn’t like the crumble topping, so I only do it for half the muffins when I make them.

I’m posting the recipe without pictures for now. I hope to have photos added before long. Recipes should always have photos.

These are milk free and egg free. Pretty much all of my baked goods are vegan due to dietary restrictions, yet we are very much omnivores.

Quick Breakfast Muffins

1 Cup Flour
1/2 Cup Packed Brown Sugar
2 Teaspoons Baking Powder
1/2 Teaspoon Salt
1 Teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
1 Dash Ground Nutmeg (Optional)
1 Dash Ground Cloves (Optional)
1/4 Cup Shortening
1/2 Cup Rice Milk
1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
1/2 Teaspoon Lemon Juice

Make it Happen:

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Prepare 12 muffin cups, either by greasing and flouring or by popping those oh-so convenient muffin papers in them.
  3. Combine rice milk, vanilla extract and lemon juice in a bowl, cup, jar or whatever you have handy that will hold it.
  4. In a separate bowl, combine flour, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. Mix thoroughly.
  5. Smoosh in shortening with the back of a spoon until the mixture has the tell-tale crumbly appearance that so many recipes want you to work to get. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients.
  6. Pour the liquid mixture into the well and gently fold the dry ingredients until everything is just wet. Don’t overwork the batter.
  7. Spoon the batter into prepared cups, filling no more than halfway.
  8. Bake at 375 for about 15 minutes or so depending on your oven. They’re done when a toothpick can violate them without soiling itself.

Sometimes, I make this in a greased, floured round cake pan. The baking time is just about the same.

If you try them, let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

