July Grocery Update

Goals are just wishes if you’re not working toward them and measuring your progress. Eh, forget the inspirational crap, I promised to hold myself accountable here, so here goes. Goals:

  1. Cut 16% from what we’ve been spending on groceries.
  2. Make the breakfast muffin recipe twice each week, once as muffins and once as coffee cakes.
  3. Make bread twice each week.
  4. Add more soups to meals.
  5. Get a fall garden planned and planted.
  6. Take two recreation days.

Accountability;

  1. Success! I came in about $40 under my goal. I don’t know if I would have succeeded had there not been the whole car repair/medical bill situation to suck every penny dry and make me borrow money, but it happened so there.
  2. Gave up. It didn’t take long for the kids to get sick of me doing this so I’m cutting back on it.
  3. Success but not. I don’t necessarily make bread twice each week. Some weeks, it’s only once. Others, it’s twice. But I’m doing a good job of determining when I need to make it and working with my schedule. I’ve also started doing a cinnamon bread (loaf or bubble loaf) at the same time which is getting gobbled up.
  4. Tried. Kids got bored quickly. Gonna aim for 1-2 times per week, but not stress if it doesn’t happen.
  5. Nope and nope. Fuck.
  6. Nope.

So, I made it money-wise, but didn’t get the whole plan down. I did evaluate my goals to see what works, what doesn’t, etc. It’ll be a boon for the August goals.

Leave a Reply

